NY to LA in Twelve Minutes!


Albert Einstein was not lying when he said that the speed of light was the universal speed limit. Well, this isn’t actually close to the speed of light but when you put it in such terms it kind of sounds like it.

Falcon HTV-2 Trajectory

Falcon HTV-2 Trajectory

The Air Force will test the Falcon HTV-2 vehicle today to try to understand better what happens with a vehicle in flight at high mach speeds. It will be launched on a rocket from an Air Force base in California where it will be released and from there it will glide unmanned at mach 20 across the Pacific Ocean. In round numbers this is a smokin’ 13,000 miles per hour or 3.6 miles per second. The ultimate goal is to allow us to develop weapon delivery vehicles that will allow us to strike a target anywhere on the globe within one hour.

After I read all this I was a bit let down that this is to be an unmanned vehicle launched in space and pulled to its blazing velocity by means of gravity. Oh well, if it helps our national security goals, then I suppose it is worth it; but I was hoping this technology would cut my commute time to work to allow me an extra half hour of sleep.

View the full article courtesy of Fox News: http://www.foxnews.com/scitech/2011/08/09/aircraft-set-to-shatter-speed-sound/?test=latestnews

-J. Wade Harrell, author of Shadows of Siernod

About J. Wade Harrell

A native of rural SW Oklahoma, I currently write swords and sorcery fiction which I publish in electronic format on Amazon. My interests and hobbies include shooting, riding motorcycles, fishing, watching college football, playing games, and most of all, spending as much time as possible with my better half, Kathy. I hope you enjoy my blog and that it might lead you into my fantastic worlds of swords and magic. -J. Wade Harrell
This entry was posted in Amazing Feats, Science and Technology, Wade's Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NY to LA in Twelve Minutes!

  1. And it failed. We now know that the unmanned vehicle disappeared off the scene and stopped sending telemetry data. The Pacific may be a pretty big back-stop but I’d sure hate to see this thing slam into one of those populated south Pacific atolls at mach 20.

    Gilligan: (Pointing at a crumpled metal object half submerged in the lagoon) “Skipper, look what I found!”
    Skipper: (With a cheesy grin, legs slightly bent in anticipation) “Is it a UFO? I wonder if it is full of little green men with blasters.”
    Professor: (Pondering the strange object with his brow furrowed) “I would say that it is a highly secret government project designed to spy on the Russians and possibly deliver nuclear munitions.”
    Mariann: (Gazing seductively exposing on leg from the high slit in her long contoured dress) “Who cares as long as the pilot is good looking.”

Leave a Reply

