Fault Lines in Oklahoma


Earthquake Potential Determined by Fault Lines in State

In the wake of the 5.6 magnitude quake that shook Oklahoma and several other associated tremors over the weekend, I thought I would share some information with people who wonder where all the fault lines in Oklahoma are. The Meers fault line probably gets most of the attention because of its location. The famous Meers Restaurant had a seismograph in the store for years but was recently dismantled. Back in 1998 or 1999, I’m not for certain, there was a 4 point something along that crack with the epicenter near Richard’s Spur. I remember feeling that sharp thud. The Meers fault line had nothing to do with the recent quakes which were centered around Sparks which is well east of Oklahoma City. Here is a map that shows most of the magor faults and geological features in the state.

Oklahoma Fault Lines

Oklahoma Fault Lines (click to enlarge)


- by J.Wade Harrell, author of Shadows of Siernod

About J. Wade Harrell

A native of rural SW Oklahoma, I currently write swords and sorcery fiction which I publish in electronic format on Amazon. My interests and hobbies include shooting, riding motorcycles, fishing, watching college football, playing games, and most of all, spending as much time as possible with my better half, Kathy. I hope you enjoy my blog and that it might lead you into my fantastic worlds of swords and magic. -J. Wade Harrell
This entry was posted in Science and Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

